Skip to main content
Supporting Safe Travels to and within Hawai‘i

For Travelers

Hawaiʻi Travel Requirements

Pre-Arrival in Hawai‘i

Hawai‘i’s pre-travel testing program gives travelers the option of receiving an exemption from the 10-day travel quarantine upon arrival. This is a key measure for revitalizing Hawai‘i’s travel economy, while limiting entry of active COVID-19 infections.

Key components of the pre-travel testing program include:

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedIn logoicon of test vial
All travelers must provide proof of a negative result from a COVID-19 nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT) taken within 72 hours from the final leg of departure.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedIn logoicon of hand holding a cross
The State of Hawai‘i will ONLY accept test results from TRUSTED TESTING AND TRAVEL PARTNERS
.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedIn logoicon of plane departing
All travelers are required to have a negative test result before their departure, in order to bypass the 10-day quarantine.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedIn logoicon of low temperature
All travelers are required to have their temperature checked and complete the mandatory State of Hawaiʻi Travel and Health Form.


NAAT tests, processed by a CLIA-certified laboratory are the only types of coronavirus tests currently approved for use in this program.

Antigen tests are not accepted.

State of Hawaiʻi Travel and Health Form

The State of Hawaiʻi Travel and Health Form is mandatory for all travelers. This digital form collects required health and travel information and is critical to protecting the health of Hawaiʻi’s residents and visitors.

The Travel and Health Form is one part of a multi-layered screening process which includes arrival temperature check and secondary screening for those with symptoms or temperatures of 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit or higher.

10-Day Travel Quarantine

People traveling to and from Hawai‘i should be prepared to undergo a 10-day quarantine upon arrival and closely monitor their health for the signs and symptoms of COVID-19.

To reduce the transmission of COVID-19 in Hawai‘i and avoid strain on Hawai‘i’s healthcare system, Governor David Ige enacted a mandatory 10-day traveler quarantine and passenger verification process for those traveling to the Hawaiian Islands. The 10-day quarantine applies to both residents and visitors. Hawai‘i residents leaving Hawai‘i should be prepared to undergo quarantine upon their return. 

A partial reinstatement of the inter-island quarantine is also in effect. The 10-day quarantine requirement applies to any person traveling to the counties of Kaua‘i, Hawai‘i, Maui and Kalawao (Moloka‘i) as stated in the 11th supplementary emergency proclamation. Interisland passengers arriving on O‘ahu are not required to quarantine. 

County Travel Requirements

County of Kauaʻi

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedIn logoCounty of Kauai map Current Status: Tier 4

County of Kauaʻi Travel Guidelines

City & County of Honolulu

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedIn logoCity & County of Honolulu map Current Status: Tier 3

City & County of Honolulu Travel Guidelines

County of Maui

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedIn logoCounty of Maui map Current Status: Act with Care

County of Maui Travel Guidelines

County of Hawaiʻi

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedIn logoCounty of Hawaii map Current Status: Act with Care

County of Hawaiʻi Travel Guidelines

Future of Hawaiʻi

COVID-19 is changing how our kamaʻāina live and work in Hawaiʻi.

To address the economic and community impacts of COVID-19, Governor David Ige issued a proclamation on April 8, 2020 to establish a Hawaiʻi Economic & Community Navigator to coordinate, direct, and implement a statewide economic and community recovery and resilience plan.

The roadmap to Hawaiʻi’s recovery and resilience is comprised of four phases that represent the pathway to stabilizing, reopening, and, ultimately, recovering to a stronger and more resilient outcome.

Facebook logoTwitter logoLinkedIn logolarge plant leaf with sun