Skip to main content
Supporting Safe Travels to and within Hawai‘i

For Travelers

New! Pre-Travel Testing Program

Beginning October 15, 2020, Hawai‘i’s pre-travel testing program gives travelers the option of receiving an exemption from the 14-day travel quarantine upon arrival. This is a key measure for revitalizing Hawai‘i’s travel economy, while limiting entry of active COVID-19 infections.

Key components of the pre-travel testing program include: 

  • All travelers must provide proof of a negative result from a COVID-19 nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT) taken within 72 hours from the final leg of departure.
  • The State of Hawai‘i will ONLY accept test results from TRUSTED TESTING AND TRAVEL PARTNERS.
    • If test results are not available upon arrival, the trans-Pacific traveler is subject to the 14-day quarantine until the negative test results are reported to the State of Hawai‘i Department of Health.
  • All travelers are required to have their temperature checked and complete the mandatory State of Hawaiʻi Travel and Health Form
  • NAAT tests, processed by a CLIA-certified laboratory are the only types of coronavirus tests currently approved for use in this program
    • Antigen tests will not be accepted

State of Hawaiʻi Travel and Health Form

The State of Hawaiʻi Travel and Health Form is mandatory for all travelers beginning September 1, 2020. This digital form collects required health and travel information and is critical to protecting the health of Hawaiʻi’s residents and visitors.

The Travel and Health Form is one part of a multi-layered screening process which includes arrival temperature check and secondary screening for those with symptoms or temperatures of 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit or higher.

14-Day Travel Quarantine

People traveling to and from Hawai‘i should be prepared to undergo a 14-day quarantine upon arrival and closely monitor their health for the signs and symptoms of COVID-19.

To reduce the transmission of COVID-19 in Hawai‘i and avoid strain on Hawai‘i’s healthcare system, Governor David Ige enacted a mandatory 14-day traveler quarantine and passenger verification process for those traveling to the Hawaiian Islands. The 14-day quarantine applies to both residents and visitors. Hawai‘i residents leaving Hawai‘i should be prepared to undergo quarantine upon their return. 

A partial reinstatement of the inter-island quarantine is in effect as of August 11, 2020. The 14-day quarantine requirement applies to any person traveling to the counties of Kaua‘i, Hawai‘i, Maui and Kalawao (Moloka‘i) as stated in the 11th supplementary emergency proclamation. Interisland passengers arriving on O‘ahu are not required to quarantine.